Research Seminar

Research Seminar

The research seminar is a platform where invited researchers present their work. All lectures are open to the public and address economists and graduate students (MA level). Ph.D. students are expected to regularly attend the research seminar.

If would like to receive regular information on the research seminar, please contact Yvonne Mery at forschungsseminar-wwz-at-unibas.ch.

Responsible faculty members ST 2019: Prof. Dr. Yvan Lengwiler and Prof. Dr. Dietmar Maringer

Administration: Yvonne Mery

Program Spring Term 2019

All seminars are open to the public and ususally take place on Tuesdays from 12:30 pm to 13:45 pm (seminar room S 15).

 

Date

Time

Place

Invited speaker

Host

Tuesday, February 19, 2019

12:30

S15

Tuesday, February 26, 2019

12:30

S15Prof. Reto Föllmi, Universität St.Gallen

"The GE effects of parallel imports."
S.M. Lein
Tuesday, March 5, 201912:30S15Prof. Andrei Levchenko, University of Michigan

"The Global Business Cycle: Measurement and Transmission"
S.M. Lein

Tuesday, March 12, 2019

 

No Seminar - Basler Fasnacht

Tuesday, March 19, 2019

12:30

S15c a n c e l l e d !

Tuesday, March 26, 2019

12:30

S15

Elod Takats, PhD, Senior Economist BIS and Visiting Fellow at the London School of Economics

"How does the interaction of macroprudential and monetary policies affect cross-border bank lending?"

Y. Lengwiler

Tuesday, April 2, 2019

12:30

S15

Dr. Goetz von Peter, Bank for International Settlements (BIS)

"Financial Deglobalisation in Banking?"

D. Maringer

Tuesday, April 16, 2019

12:30

S15Prof. Jaya Krishnakumar (Institute of Economics and Econometrics, GSEM, GenfD. Maringer
Wednesday, April 17, 201912:30S15Prof. Dr. Sebastian Findeisen, University of Mannheim

"Adjusting to Robots: Worker-Level Evidence"
K. Schmidheiny

Tuesday, April 23, 2019

12:30

S15Prof. Charles Gottlieb, Universität St.GallenY. Lengwiler
Tuesday, April 30, 201912:30S15

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. M. Scott Taylor, University of Calgary

"Is Free Trade bad for Resources?"
R. Weder

Thursday, May 2, 2019

12:30

S15Prof. Samuel Bowles, Santa Fe Institute

"Why is wealth inequality greater when the shadow price of capital goods is higher? A model will illustrations from the Neolithic and Bronze Ages, and conjectures for the future"
M. Fochesato

Tuesday, May 7, 2019

12:30

S15Prof. Massimo Filippini, ETH Zürich und USI Lugano B. Hintermann

Tuesday, May 14, 2019

12:30

S15Prof. Dr. Peter Winker, Justus-Liebig-Universität GiessenD. Maringer

Tuesday, May 21, 2019

12:30

S15Prof. Nicolas R. Ziebarth, Cornell UniversitySt. Felder
Tuesday, May 28, 201912:30S15

Prof. Karl Schmedders, PhD

H. Zimmermann